About Us

Dispatch Center Staff

The Jefferson County Emergency Communications Center is the public safety answering point (PSAP) and dispatch center for all emergency service in Jefferson County, including the cities of McLouth, Meriden, Nortonville, Oskaloosa, Ozawkie, Perry, Valley Falls, and Winchester.

Staffing for the center includes the Director of Emergency Services, Deputy Director of 911 Communications, and 10 full-time communications specialists. All staff members are required to maintain certification in Emergency Medical Dispatch (EMD), Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR), and National Crime Information Center (NCIC) certification. At least two staff members are on duty 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.


Emergency Communications plays a critical role in the delivery of all sheriff, police, fire, and medical services within Jefferson County. Established in 1995, Jefferson County Emergency Communication’s primary mission is to enhance the quality of life of every person in Jefferson County, Kansas, by:
  • Processing both emergency and non-emergency calls in a prompt, courteous, professional manner
  • Striving for efficiency
  • Helping by saving lives, protecting property, and assist the public and emergency response personnel
  • Making Jefferson County a safer community in which to live, work, and/or visit

Combined Public Safety Communications Services

The Jefferson County Emergency Communications Center provides combined public safety communications services 24 hours a day, seven days a week for:
  • District 11 EMS
  • Jefferson County Ambulance Service
  • Jefferson County Emergency Management
  • Jefferson County Fire District #1 - Kaw
  • Jefferson County Fire District #2 – Kentucky / Perry
  • Jefferson County Fire District #3 - Rural
  • Jefferson County Fire District #4 - Sarcoxie
  • Jefferson County Fire District #5 – Rock Creek
  • Jefferson County Fire District #6 - Fairview
  • Jefferson County Fire District #7 - Ozawkie
  • Jefferson County Fire District #8 - Oskaloosa
  • Jefferson County Fire District #9 – Union / McLouth
  • Jefferson County Fire District #10 - Jefferson