Who Gets the Taxes?

There are many entities that can levy taxes.  Some of these districts include:
Each taxing entity has separate boundaries, so properties are divided into tax units identified by a three-digit code to determine which entities need to receive taxes from which properties.  Jefferson County has over 150 tax units. (see interactive map)

Inside Jefferson County government, tax revenue is split between various departments such as the Sheriff's Office and the Road Department.  Here's an example of what departments got how much for a house valued at $112,000 (average home value in Jefferson County) in 2010.